Cape Tappi is the northern most point of the Tsugaru peninsula. The name, Tappi, which literally means “as dragon flies”, was named after the strong winds that blow in the area, just as if a dragon flew. Near the lighthouse, there are stone monuments for various prominent figures with connection to Tsugaru such as Osamu Dazai and Shoin Yoshida.
A Highway for Pedestrians? The Highway Route 339
The section of Highway Route 339 that runs through Cape Tappi is actually a stairway of 362 steps, from the coastal line to the lighthouse. It is the only stair highway route with a total of 388.2 m (1273 feet) in Japan.
The stairway is openly exposed to the strong winds from the Tsugaru Channel, and it has become a popular tourist spot.
Cape Tappi Tourist Information Center Tappi-kan
Tappi-kan was remodeled from the Okuya Inn, which hosted famous figures such as Osamu Dazai and Shiko Munekata. In addition to artifacts of Dazai and Shiko, there are also photographs and paintings of Cape Tappi exhibited at the center.
|59-12 Minmayatatsuhama, Sotogahama-machi, Higashitsugaru, Aomori 030-1711
|Hours of Operation
|9:00~16:00(Final Admission 15:30)
|Cape Tappi Tourist Information Center Tappi-kan Blog (Japanese)
Seikan Tunnel Memorial Hall
Seikan Tunnel, the longest undersea tunnel in the world, opened for service in March 1988, 42 years after it was first conceived. The Memorial Hall presents the history of its construction through a 3D model, visual images and panels. There is an exhibition zone where visitors can experience a 45 minute course to learn how this tunnel, measuring a total of 53.85 km and submerged 240 meters underwater, was constructed. The cable car that takes visitors to this underwater tunnel 140 meters under water in just 9 minutes is the shortest private railway in the world, the Seikan Tunnel Tappi Shako-Line.
Shayokan: Dazai Osamu Memorial Museum
This is a roof purline building built by Gen-emon Tsushima (Osamu Dazai’s father), who was a large landowner during the Meiji Era. Work was completed in June 1907. Cypress wood was used for all structures, including the rice storehouse. It has 11 rooms with an approximate area of 917 square meters on the first floor, and 8 rooms with an approximate area of 383 square meter on the 2nd floor. It is a grand mansion extending over an area of approximately 2244 square meters, with attached buildings and a Japanese garden with ponds.
Tachineputa no Yakata (Tachineputa Museum)
Goshogawara Tachineputa Festival is one of the four largest summer festivals held between August 4th and 8th. At the Tachineputa no Yakata, three real tachineputa are exhibited. The three neputa begin their parade from the museum.
The exhibition hall is an atrium with an incline around the 23-meter (75 feet) tachineputa so visitors can see it from top to down. Footage from the festival is shown at the exhibition hall. Additionally, visitors can see the making of the tachineputa at the production studio.
The gallery of the museum holds paintings from artists with connection to Aomori. The museum also has a souvenir shop, a restaurant, an observation lounge, and an experiencing room where visitors can make kingyo neputa (goldfish neputa).
Experiencing the Making of Tachineputa
At the Tachineputa production studio, visitors can experience making the tachineputa, including pasting the paper and coloring. Applications can be made on the day of the visit.
*Available for a limited time (Mid-April to Mid-June)
*Advance reservation required for groups larger than 10 people.
- Telephone Number
- Opening Times
[Tachineputa Exhibition Hall/Art Gallery]
(April~September) 9:00~19:00, (October~March) 9:00~17:00
August 4th ~ 8th 9:00~17:00, August 13th 9:00~19:00, December 31st 9:00~15:00
- January 1st (May be open. Contact us for details)
Senjojiki Coast, facing to the Sea of Japan, is a bedrock beach formed with the uplifting of land due to an earthquake in 1792. The rock shelf of approximately 12 kilometers, on which the lord of the area had 1,000 tatami mats laid out for a party, sweeps along the coast.
Visitors can enjoy the view from JR’s resort train “Resort Shirakami”, which will slow down when it comes to close the coast.
The view at sunset time is magnificent and is selected as one of the “100 best sunsets in Japan”.
Lake Juniko (Twelve Lakes) /Aoike Pond
The Tsugaru Quasi-National Park, Lake Juniko (Twelve Lakes), is a collective name for 33 lakes and ponds that extend over an area of 4 square km (1.5 square miles) on an undulating plateau, with an altitude that ranges from 150 meters (492 feet) to 250 meters (820 feet). Although there are 33 ponds and lakes, the area is called Juniko (Twelve Lakes) because only twelve bodies of water can be seen from Mt. Okuzure’s summit.
Juniko likely formed during the Edo period when a major earthquake blocked a mountain stream, causing it to expand into the present collection of lakes and ponds. Today, the area features walking trails and a campsite, making it a popular place for hiking, camping, nature sightseeing, and mountain climbing.
Aoike –Mystical Natural Beauty
Aoike is a remarkable lake renowned for its seemingly artificial, though completely natural, vibrant blue waters. The clear water, with a visibility of 9 meters (29 feet), offers visitors enchanting views of withered beech trees lying submerged in the cobalt water. The reason for its blue color is still unknown, adding to the lake’s mysterious allure. The best season to view the lake is from spring to summer when the area’s foliage is lush and green. The sight of Aoike glittering in tree-filtered sunlight is a truly breathtaking sight.
Juniko Visitor Center (Juniko Information Site)
The Juniko Visitor Center, located within Juniko Station, has many informational brochures about the area and also includes local produce shops, souvenir shops, coin lockers and temporary baggage storage areas.
Address JR Juniko Station Grounds, 33-1 Shita-Hamamatsu Matsukami, Fukaura Town, Nishitsugaru District, Aomori Prefecture 038-2206
Hours of Operation 9:00-17:00 (Beginning of April – Mid November)
Closed End of November to end of March
Admission Fee Free
Kyororo, the forest shop
Kyororo is a helpful facility for Shirakami Sanchi/Juniko sightseeing as it includes local produce sales, a snack shop, and parking (paid). The facility is conveniently located across from the Oku-Juniko Parking Bus Stop and is only a 10-minute walk away from Aoike.
Address Within Matsukamisan-Kokuyurin, Fukaura Town, Nishitsugaru District, Aomori Prefecture 038-2206
Hours of Operation 8:00-18:00(April to November)
Closed December to March
Admission Fee Free
Fukaura Town’s residents volunteer as trekking guides and happily show visitors the area while providing information about Mt. Shirakami and the wildlife and history of Lake Juniko.
Lake Juniko Trekking (April–November)
Amount of Time: 1–3 hours 1 Guide ¥10,000
Mt. Okuzure Hiking (May–October)
Amount of Time: 4 hours 1 Guide ¥20,000
*Other options are also available.
*For visitors in wheelchairs, we offer special assistance. 1 Staff ¥5,000~
Contact: Shirakami Juniko Co., Ltd. TEL:0173-77-3311 FAX:0173-77-2681